the Visionary Fiction Alliance

14 Apr

VFA-member bannerWhat is the Visionary Fiction Alliance (VFA)? I guess I should know as I just joined it! As the new kid on the block, so far I can tell you its an organization of authors, readers, editors, publishers, artists and others who specialize in a certain new genre of fiction.

Visionary fiction is the kind of story that shows how the protagonist changes for the better through expected plot development and conflict. That can be said about any good novel. The distinction is that in visionary stories the main character is not only transforming into someone better, but transforming in the context of a universal good. This happens through an extraordinary mental, spiritual, or paranormal ability or experience.

Visionary fiction is also referred to as transformational.  Think of classic stories like Siddhartha by Herman Hesse, The Way of the Peaceful Warrior by Dan Millman, Life of Pi by Yann Martel, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma, or The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis.  All are great classics and best-sellers.

But don’t be intimidated. Nobodies like me are writing visionary fiction. My finally-finished novel Lanes End is hopefully part of that genre. I didn’t realize it until I recently stumbled across the VFA and thought “hey, my book fits their definition” (see why I think Lanes End does).

But enough shameless self-promotion! Check the VFA out for yourself (click on the logo). You’ll find a better definition of visionary fiction than mine, plus some very interesting posts, reviews, books, etc. You may even want to join . . .

 

Copyright 2016, Paul Hill
All Rights Reserved

For ALL Light in the Dark Paranormal postings
(most recent at top), visit our home blog:

http://www.lightinthedarkparanormal.wordpress.com
Visit our website: http://www.lightinthedarkparanormal.com

All posts on this blog are written and owned by Paul Hill.

13 Responses to “the Visionary Fiction Alliance”

  1. ghostbusterbev April 16, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    Paul, thanks for sharing your discovery. I will definitely look into VFA and all that it has to offer. It’s great to know that authors, publishers, etc. are banding together to support this kind of specialty novel. Bookstores also have difficulty knowing where to place visionary fiction (I refer to it as spiritual fiction). My last book ended up in the “Fiction” section at the bookstore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul Hill April 16, 2016 at 11:28 am #

      Bev, glad to hear of your interest. Join up and spread the word!

      Like

  2. ellisnelson April 15, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

    Hi Paul. I’m in Colorado Springs.

    Like

    • Paul Hill April 15, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

      Hello! Be you author, reader, etc? Or just browsing?

      Like

    • Paul Hill April 15, 2016 at 1:42 pm #

      Just found your blog! Thanks for finding me. Question: can visionary fiction be written for the younger crowd? That would be revolutionary.

      Like

      • ellisnelson April 15, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

        Absolutely. I consider my Into the Land of Snows book for teens to be VF. As far as marketing though, I haven’t seen agents or editors recognize the term VF. They still use genre categories like paranormal, occult, fantasy, SF, etc. Also magical realism has become a buzz word in teen books.

        Like

        • Paul Hill April 15, 2016 at 2:22 pm #

          Yes, the publishing powers that be still classify supernatural/paranormal books under “Horror,” which is my pet peeve. They’re still playing catchup on new business models and genres, so I’m not surprised about lack of recognition for VF. I think the VFA is doing a good job of waving the flag, but more could always be done. I’m just not sure what. Any ideas? I’ll check out your book …

          Like

          • ellisnelson April 15, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

            Yeah, they are behind the times. They’re still doing their best to ignore e-publishing! Anyway, I think VFA helps and authors tagging their writing VF helps. Your psychic work looks interesting. Maybe we could do a blog interview sometime. Visit me at http://www.ellisnelson.com and see if you’d be comfortable over there. Maybe time it around your book release. Let me know.

            Like

          • Paul Hill April 15, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

            I went to your site; read about your latest book; looks great. Very interesting how your YA work might actually cross over into adult. Yes, I’d be happy to interview on your blog, and maybe I can do likewise. Timing is everything. I’m looking at a launch date in early July, and one wants to pile up interviews, reviews, etc. as close to launch as possible but not prematurely. Maybe sometime the last 2 weeks in June? If you were interested in an interview on my blog before that, let me know…

            Like

          • ellisnelson April 16, 2016 at 8:47 am #

            I can send you questions the second part of June and then hold back and post the blog simultaneous with your release. That way, readers have the chance to buy your book right away. Would love the opportunity to be on your blog and I’m available whenever you want for that.

            Like

          • Paul Hill April 16, 2016 at 10:26 am #

            Excellent. Give me a few days to study your material more intensely and I’ll formulate the questions and send…

            Like

          • Paul Hill April 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm #

            Ellis, send me your personal email so I can send you my interview questions. Use this Contact link so we don’t have to have it on Comments:
            https://lightinthedarkparanormal.wordpress.com/contact-us-2/ Thanks!

            Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lanes End | Light in the Dark Paranormal - April 14, 2016

    […] more about the author and the story. Learn more about visionary fiction and the Visionary Fiction […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Weiler Psi

Parapsychology Journalism: The People, The Theory, The Science, The Skeptics

buffalohair.wordpress.com/

From An Indigenous Perspective

ellisnelson

children's author

Randsburg, CA

The Mojave Desert's Liveliest Ghost Town

Just Turn Left

Meandering Across China & East Asia

Visionary Fiction Alliance

Portal to Visionary Fiction—Transforming Human Consciousness

Paranormal Picker

Paranormal Correlation & Validation

Sheila Renee Parker

Author. Paranormal. Romance. Fantasy. Follow Sheila on Twitter! @sheilarparker

Renae Rude - The Paranormalist

Finessing bipolarity. Writing horror. Chasing ghosts.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

